In accordance with the “Municipalities Law of 1985”, the Municipal Council has the right to appoint specific or general purpose committees that consist of one or more municipal counsellors along with citizens that come from all political parties or organised groups.

Each committee deals with specific subjects or group of subjects which, in the opinion of the Municipal Council, would be more effectively dealt with through such committees.

The committees are of an advisory nature as their suggestions and conclusions are submitted to the Municipal Council for approval.

The Municipal Council that was elected in the last Municipal elections of December 2011 has decided to form the following committees, each one of which is chaired by a municipal councillor:

Committee Name


1. Development and Technical Matters Committee

Sotiris Agapiou

2. Cultural Committee

Maria Patsalou

3. Athletics and Youth Committee

Stavros Xatzicharalambous

4. Environment and Agriculture Committee

Andreas Karittevlis

5. Tenders Committee

Marios Alambritis

6. Industrial and Small business Development Committee

Pavlos Kitsis

7. Welfare and Social Services Committee

Minas Xiourouppas

8. Water Supply Committee

Pantelis Sioukas

9. Municipal Stadium Committee 

Michalis Karatzias

10. Transportation and Road Safety Committee

Nikolas Karoullas

11. Management Committee

Mayor, Deputy Mayor

12. Tax Objections Committee

Giorgos Mavrovelis

13. Personnel Committee


14. Advertising Signs Committee

Christodoulos Partou